Who is Obama?

January 20, 2009

I don’t watch TV so I miss out on a lot of stuff. That’s not necessarily a loss to me. Mostly it’s a loss to advertisers.

The Obama story is perhaps another matter. When it comes to issues like that, then TV offers something unique and interesting – a look at whats on TV.

TV has become a stage where life is performed. TV is important because people live there and understand the world through that experience. Now THATS influence!

However, all the other media report on “whats on” as well as cover the actual story, so the Obama story is unavoidable.

There is no doubt that this is an historical event. Finally, a large part of the US population has a president that, at least in theory, represents them. When I see US blacks, especially the very old ones, cheering for Obama, I get a tear in my eye. Yes, this is touching. It’s been a long time and a long fight, and I feel their triumph and hope for the future. This is good. This is indeed history.

It seems that everyone’s focus is on this aspect of the event. It is sad that those who don’t share a belief in racism have to bow to those that do by constantly talking about it. Personally I would rather not think about it, although I respect the needs of those that have suffered much because of it. I would rather assume that all people should get the respect that they deserve as human beings. It’s sad that I can’t do that, all because of a few that like to spend their time arguing about it – pro or con. The fact that we are even discussing it is proof that we haven’t progressed far. The way I see it, the news coverage of the first black US president is a powerful reminder of these shortcomings.

I don’t think much will change. The real powers are still those that brought Obame to where he is. Don’t get me wrong, I think he is a talented person and will likely fulfill his role well, but the real ruler is still going to be the TV.

Comments are closed.

